In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage indicates that in order to cut down the incidence of car accident, Prunty County should appropriate policy of Butler County, which is to broaden road width, repair the rugged ones and enhance visibility in several areas. It uses the maintaining accident rate in the last year, the prevalent violation of regulation in the county and the success of Prunty County’s regulation. The recommendation does has some merits, while it can be vulnerable to refutations since more evidences are needed to make it tenable.

First of all, the author proclaims that the regulation of speed limit wan’t working in Prunty County. Drivers are also violating the law. Therefore, new policies are necessary to cut down on the rate of car accident. However, the only evidence of the statement is the statistics from the last year. Is there possibility that the ratio isn’t dropping because it wasn’t implemented until the last two month in the year? If that is the case, then more promotion of the law may be necessary to let the people in the town notice the limit, and it may turn out that it is actually useful by observing for a longer period. The writer of the passage need evidence to prove this statement to make his recommendation tenable.

Moreover, the assumption the author takes is that the rate of car accident is a result of speedy driving. Nevertheless, is there possibility that alternative causes are reasons for most of the accidents? For example, no penalty on drink and drive may be the contributor of crushes. If that is the case, then suggestions made by the writer may not be useful. In other words, the author needs more evidences to prove that other methods are not better to make the incidence drop down.

Similarly, in the passage, it can be realized that the author believes the experience of Butler County can be implant on Prunty County. His assumption should be the situation, or reasons why car accidents occurs are similar. Nevertheless, the reason why car accident happens easily in Butler County may be very different from Prunty County, with former results from poorly maintained transportation construction, but latter fallout of driving too fast. The author may seek more pieces of evidence to show that the factor lead to car accidents are likely the same in the two counties, or his argument may be fallacious.

In a nutshell, the passage is unfounded as the author need more evidence to prove his recommendation feasible. He needs to prove that promotion of current regulation is useless, no other method may be more wrathful than his, and the situation in the two counties are similar that appropriating one to another is reasonable.