The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only abouWt 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

From the memorandum, it can be seen that the manager of Happy Pancake House restaurant decide to extend the cost-saving change of replacing price rising butter by artifact. The decision is risky, though, since it relies on several fallacious assumptions. Therefore, it may seem correct at first, but in fact bring consequential effect on the restaurant.

First of all, the manager indicated that since only two percent of the whole customers had react upon the issue, he or she believed that most of the customers don't care about the difference between butter and margarine. Nevertheless, no information of length about the statistics was disclosed in the memorandum, which make it actually tenuous for analyzing the audiences' feeling. Isn't there possibilities that the complaint may rise by time? In addition, the process of making formal complaints may be complicated, and therefore customers in Southwestern US didn't want to show their feeling.

Another situation which made the manager believes that customers of Happy Pancake House restaurant don't care about the authenticity of the butter used is most of them didn't show anger when they received margarine. Nevertheless, the truth may be that the restaurant had been rushed in the southwest mostly, and this may make complaining about the butter the restaurants used tiring. After waiting in the line for five minute to get the butter, the audience definitely won't want to want for another five minute just to pour out their feelings. In contrast, they may show their feeling by not stepping again into the restaurant, and this may be extremely harmful for the food industry's business.

The last reason why the manager should broach with his staff before making final decision is that his suggestion is based on untenable assumption. He observed the phenomenon of indifference about authenticity in the southwest, and would want to extend the cost-down strategy to the whole country. Nonetheless, the feature in southwest US may not be a good indicator of the whole nation, as there are high variance among different regions. As a result, the customers in some areas may probably boycott the restaurant at last.

The reasons mentioned above indicate why the manager should better do more work before extending the cost-saving change.