The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The thought suggested by the vice president of the food distribution company seem to be persuasive at first. However, since several pieces of evidence are missed to support his argument, the decision of returning to Buzzoff Company to control doesn’t seem to be such a good idea.

First of all, the vice president regarded it necessary give up the contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company for Buzoff because the food stored at Palm City, where Fly-Away Pest Control Company was responsible for, was destroyed severer than the counterpart which the Buzoff Company had responsibility to. Nevertheless, several details weren’t mentioned, and this may be unfair to the company just signed the contract nearly. The warehouse in Palm City can be ten times larger than the one in Wintervale, which means that the new company already did a good job. Furthermore, the conditions of the two storage area weren’t discussed either. There is probabilities that Palm City is a wet and scorching hot place proper for pests to live and Wintervale is cold and dry. Therefore, it may be simpler for the Buzoff Pest to control pest but more challenging for Fly-Away Pest Control Company. In this case, the decision of turning back to the old company may be irrational.

Secondly, in the memo, it can be understood that the food company had just have signed with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company for just a short time, and the vice president attempted to break the contract right away. Nonetheless, he probably would feel remorse for doing so since the Fly-Away Pest Control Company may do work better in the future. After all, the vice president had just witnessed the outcome of the first month. The reason their work wasn’t satisfying may be tributes to unfamiliarity. The Fly-Away Pest Control Company may probably had same work when they first signed the contract with the food company.

Lastly, the reason why it doesn’t seem to be a good idea to break the contract with Fly-Away for Buzoff Pest Control Company is that the money the food company have to spend, instead of cutting down as they expected, may rise. The reason is that they will have to pay for breaking the contract, and after the Buzoff Pest Control Company know that the food company have a strong dependency on them ,they may want to raise the price. If the food company really want to change their cooperate partner, why not choose another pet control company that they haven’t considered before.

The reasons listed above suggested why breaking the contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company for Buzoff Pest Control Company isn’t a wise decision. The vice president of the food company better ponder for it.