The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of a food distribution company suggests in a memo that in order to save money for the company, the company should change its pest control services back to Buzzoff and stop using the new pest service company, Fly-Away, in all of its warehouse. However, there are several assumptions in the argument need to be addressed.

The vice president claims that the fast-food warehouse in Palm City which the pest control service is provided by Fly-Away had a lost more than double than the warehouse in Wintervale which the pest control sevice is provided by Buzzoff. Here, the vice president assumes that the condition in Palm City is exactly the same as Wintervale. For example, we do not know where Palm City and Wintervale is located at. What if Palm City is located in southern tropical weather and Wintervale is close up to north with low colder weather. In tropical weather insects are usually more active colder weather. Or, perhaps, the warehouse in Palm City is older than the one in Wintervale, and due to this reason, there are many holes in the wall where bugs can go in.

Furthermore, in the memo, the author mentions the price of Fly-Away is “considerably” lower. Here he assumes that the price is lower than the $10,000 difference between the damage worth of food. We do not have enough of information to know if that is necessarily true. What if, for example, the cost of Fly-Away is $15,000 cheaper than Buzzoff? If this is true, than the argument of the author can not be supported.

Even if Fly-Away is not cheaper than the lost of the food damage, we still need to address the assumption Fly-Away had enough of time to fix the pest problem in Palm City. In the memo, the vice president mentions that the company recently change to new pest control service provider. However, we do not know if “recently” meant by 1 month or 5 months. If the change is only for 1 month, then there are not enough of time to judge Fly-Away’s performance fairly. It can takes weeks to kill all the adult pests and even months to kill all the babies or eggs that are not yet become harmful pests. Hence, we need to know how long did Fly-Away started the service for Palm City in order for us to evaluate this assumption.

To conclude, the vice president of a food distribution company needs to address the assumptions above in order to strengthen the argument.