The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Although I agree with the statement that the general welfare of a nation’s citizens should be an indicator of a great nation, I also believe that the achievements of a nation’s rulers, artists, or scientists should be included as one of the indicators of a great nation.

A nation is made out of its citizens, and the purpose of a nation is to serve its people. I believe that most people would agree with the general welfare of the citizens should be how we value the greatness of a nation. Imagine if we see starving children and wars in a nation on television, we would not be complimenting this country or eager to visit this place, but instead, we would hope our country not to be like that. Clearly, the greatness of a country can be defined by the welfare of its people.

Nevertheless, in order to increase the general welfare, a nation should also depends on its ruler. The president of a country is capable of helping a nation grow in economic development and social stability which are important factors to increase welfare of the people. Good policies from the current political party can increase jobs in the workforce since economic development rests on political decisions and changes. For example, during the financial crisis in 2008, President Obama lowered taxes and providing aids for each state for infrastructure development. This policy resulted in a large decrease in unemployment and help the United States to fight the recession. In this case, the achievement of a ruler did help a nation become greater.

Furthermore, scientists also help a nation become greater. Scientists in different fields help the lives of ordinary people become better. Scientists in medical fields create medicines and machineries to help people recover from sickness. If antibiotics haven’t been discovered by scientists, many simple sickness that we considered nowadays might be fatal to human beings. It is only due to the achievements of these scientists that we are able to live a healthy and long-living life. Therefore, we can surely say that the achievements of scientists can indeed make a nation great.

In conclusion, I believe that the greatness of a nation should be defined by not only the welfare of its people but also the achievements of its rulers of scientists.