The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The prosperity and development of a country is better reflected by the living standards of its majority of general public rather than the limited number of elites. A nation, comprising public with good education and economically solvent, is considered better. I completely agree with the statement that general well- being of people is the most important indicator of a country’s achievement.

In my country Nepal, people witnessed the civil war for some 10 years to bring justice to the unpreviliged lower class citizens, to find against the discrimination amongst caste, gender, poor-rich. Earlier, the rebellion leader drew all the citizens to their side to revolt against the ruling government, however, upon acceding to the power themselves, they forgot their vow and act solely for the well-being of them and their relatives. Of course, the life standard of these disingenuous leaders and their families have improved, but the predicament is still mounting over the heads of general people.

Similarly, we can take Pakistan as an another example. Most of the leaders of the country are rich enough to afford every needs of their families as they are extremely indulged in defalcation of government funds. If Pakistan growth is measured with respect to the qualification and living standards of these few corrupted politicians, it would be regarded as one of the developed countries, however, looking at the life of general people, the country is limping with poverty so entrenched in society, that it is quite manifest.

Without a doubt, it is to be noted that the economic condition of politicians and leaders need to be better if a country wants corruption-free society. If a person is suffering from privation, it is for sure that he will indulge himself in the bribery with a motive to gain money so that he would uplift his standards of living. So, in addition to the leader, all the citizens of country should have access to all the necessities for the betterment of their lives. Likewise, there are bunches of people in every society who could make a very good life on their own like artists, scientists. If a country’s achievement is accessed based on them, that will give fallacious information. Clearly, there are people can’t afford even fundamental needful to their families.

In summary, of course, better economic status and good living standards of rulers, artists, or scientists is required, but most importantly the well-being of all the nationals is of paramount importance to measure the development of country.