Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Learning is a never-ending process; we start learning right from the inception of our life to the end. A person would become more sharpened, knowledgeable by learning the things around them. I completely disagree with the claim that learning will be more effective from the people whose views are similar to us rather than the people whose views differ.

People (having different views than ours) can bring to the light very different, yet important things. They can shape your mind to cerebrate on anything from broader perspective. For example, our prime minister was planning to prepare detailed project report for the hydropower. He had certain views and every minister in the cabinet was also sharing the same view. So he had planned to implement his idea, but, at the very last moment he consulted opposition parties. They suggested the prime minister their idea, and ultimately the prime minister was resonant with them, which benefited the project a lot.

In addition, I, during my school day, solved a very difficult mathematic problem, and i took 30 minutes for it. But one of my friends, who was not convinced with my way of solving, put forth a logical technique that solved the same problem in 5 minutes. I learnt a very useful tip that worked for me throughout my school day. Had I not learnt from this friend who had different views, I would not have come across this very effective technique.

Many might argue that learning from the people with similar views is more crucial. Because they share similar opinions, they can learn more with simpatico mind. They might also think that differing views causes mental agitation, which restrict your brain from learning. However, it is to be noted that not all people get annoyed by opposing views. In fact, most of the time, people love to discuss the issues with people (having different views) so that they can see the things from different perspectives to come up with more plausible standings.

In summary, of course, learning is benefitial, be it from people with similar views or different views. But we get to know majority of new perspectives from the people whose views contradict with ours. Therefore, learning will be more fruitful with people having different views.