On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

It is true that limiting number of vehicles plying the road can reduce the number of road accidents. The author, in this argument, however, has surmised that the result can be duplicated in Balmer Island by implementing the exactly same strategy as was implemented in Seaville Island. Although the given premises are valid, it seems to be incomplete and need further deliberate survey to come to a more tenable, valid, and cogent conclusion. The argument is rife with holes and fallacious assumptions.

Without any evidence, the author has opined that two Islands are similar with respect to the traffic rules and regulations. Perhaps, in addition to cutting down the number of rental mopeds per day, the traffic rules and regulations in Seaville Island is made very strict so as to minimize the accidents, which could have resulted 50% reduction a year in accidents involving mopeds. Perhaps the licensing procedure in Seaville Island is very tough that only the expert riders get the moped’s license. Whereas, in Balmer Island may not having strict licensing procedure so that everyone gets license without much import, which could lead to a number of accidents.

Had the author surveyed about other specifics resulting decreased accidents in Seaville Island, he would have come with other important avenues. For example, the author must look at the number of vehicles plying the roads of both Islands. Furthermore, the author should have studied about the condition of the road. Perhaps the roads are wide and well managed, and number of mopeds is low in Seaville Island in comparision to Balmer Island.

The author assumes that, with the same rule, the results can be duplicated. Along with this assumption is the presumption that two islands are similar in respect of roads, traffic rules, number of vehicles. The author should look all these areas separately to better represent the similarity between two different Islands. Undoubtedly, it is to be noted that increasing the number of vehicles lead to more risk for road accidents. But author should not base upon the generalized implication to draw this specific conclusion. He should have better come with a more detailed study to yield more plausible assumption to back this conclusion.