Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Learning is the cumulative aggregation of agrements in understangin and disagrements. Knowledge is omnipresent and with rationalization by arguments, knowledge gets assimilated into us as learning. With intution and counter intuitive experiences we evolve and thus garner new learning. Mere acceptance to people's view isn't a good proponent of learning. It's by chanllenge and questioning the norm, we learn the best and overcome inhibition.

If Gallelio were to conform to people whose view were that the sun rotates around the earth, we might have had the wrong understanging for a long long time until enough scientific improvements were made to prove it otherwise. It's by continuous quest of the inquisitive mind to question the accepted theories, that makes newer innovations and discoveries. Conflicting ideas don't have to be alien to each other; rather such ideologists should have a platform to debate and with rigorous deliberation, newer ideas can come into fruition or can improve on an existing idea. Disagreements could bring newer paths to understand and learn. Pampering with agreements may lead a generation to become sycophants; a trait that has become more and more visible with the introduction of social networking - more and more people are now running after how likeable they are and how many appreciating notes they received on instagram or if the followers increased on twitter.

Also, the greatest of the leaders are those who are accepting to all the people that he's leading to. A great leader or a great statesman needs to stand by his followers and yet pay heed and upheld the rights of his opposition. Consider a constitution, where there are no oppositions; every possible bill will be passed without contention - every violation of human rights will be accepted with an affirming nod. A better society depends on a strong opposition in the council or the governing body. A contradicting proposition could be counter intuitive and yet bring out the fault in a process and better the overall effect. Consider the soviet submarine commander who was misinformed about an attak and was asked to fire an atomic missile and with careful questioning and counter-arguing, figured out the wrong interpretation of the scrambled message. He is widely regarded as one who stopped the world from experiencing a neuclear war. If it were mere acceptance of one's superior, we might not be existing today.

While, disagreements could, at times, heart our feelings and can inhibit the nascent minds, it's necessary to bring everyone into careful participation in debates. It's by such guided practice, youger and fledgeling minds can strengthen and stay strong when faced with adversity. Nodding to every arguments, rather makes a person inept to take decision at the time of urgency. Overly accepting nature degenerates a mind and makes one socially inept as we cannot cope with disagreements.

Although, it's equally important to understand the state of one's mind and not get into contention with persons with anxiety disorders or a person with weaker mind. Arguments could be at one's dismay when dealing with such persons. We must understand that arguments are for healthier discussion and not bullying. It can do humongous harm to a softer mind and can flinch one and wrap into the cocoon of intovertedness.

Hence, we should encourage a healthier combination of agreements and disagreements. Disagreements should not be to bully a person and agreements are not to be obsequious. The benefit od the society and all of us are in the questioning and debating and disagreemtns and with proper motivations, may be with some amount of nod of aggrying views.