Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university

courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic

and to achieve a common goal.

The claim to promote group assignments and replace a substantial amount of lecture-based instructions in colleges has its own merit and surely, there would be some people contending it. Group assignments promotes interpersonal communication, fostering of new ideas, encouragement to bring about radically innovative ideas. Although it is a must to have proper guidance to promote such environment in colleges and universities, else, there would be more nuisance than ideas in such group activities. keeping some amount of traditional lecture-based instructions would be helpful in clearing doubts from the more experienced professors or instructors and eventually help them achieve the intended goal.

It is of utmost importance that institutes encourage more and more communication among the peer students not just in the higher educational systems but from the kindergartens. We humans are social animals and we cannot live in seclusion; physical, emotional and intellectual need requires us to interact with fellow human beings. To keep up a healthy relationship, we ought to have proper social mores and that can only be promoted in the institutes where the greenhorns are ebullient in ideas and emotions and are looking for vent to express themselves. Such group engagements would give them the platform to share ideas with each others and at the same time enable to engage different members belonging to different ethnic groups, different cultures to collaborate and bring forth a motley of diversity. It is a no-brainer that, the sheer globalization has made the boundaries across a country bleaker day by day and every society can now see different ethnic group co-existing among them. To have a mutual understanding and friendliness, it is very important to maintain interpersonal communication. Colleges and universities can give the benefits to the fledgling students a new outlook of acceptance towards others.

At the same time, archiving a task that requires mammoth time investment and diverse knowledge in fields, requires people with expertise in different fields. No one person can be a master of all - all one can is a jack of all trades but master of none. To achieve a common goal requires such individual contributor, with their ideas booming in one aspect but nescient in other fields, to collaborate. This will enable them to garner cognizance in the other fields and will benefit the whole group by delving deep into problem solving: eventually bettering their analytical capabilities, knowledge in different fields, improving interpersonal communications and respect to each other.

Although the other side of the argument may give some insight that the guidance should be left to the more experienced faculties of the colleges to guide the students in achieving their goals. Here, we forget the most of the traditional classes cannot have enough time to cater to all the questions of the students and thus some students remain reluctant in future to ask for questions.

Thus, it is important to understand that communication is a real issue in our world today and to overcome such problem and better the skills in all the aspects in an institutes, they should promote group activities.