Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Population spur, economic boom and industrial growth has brought down the wilderness area all across the world to a crippling low. Deforestation and poaching of animals is rampant and if not controlled will eventually show its deleterious effect to the humanity. To preserve the remaining wilderness, every nation needs to take steps to counter further destruction of forests. Bringing laws will put stringent regulations on the wilderness and help in keeping the areas in its natural state.

From the ancient ages humans have peregrinated to explore fertile lands to cultivate and use natural resources for its benefit. In the process, the natural resources have been exploited severely. Although the use of the resources brought benefits to the civilization, we must realize that the world and the existence of the worldly creatures, including us, pivots on the balance of need and supply and not on greed and supply. Economic growth has given us the benefits and comforts in every aspect of our life. This very growth, in conjunction with greed, has destroyed massive forests, for mining and for poaching animals to get their skin or tasks for the rich to show off. With power comes huge responsibility - this simple yet powerful truth is the call of the day and we must listen to that to save the only planet inhabitable to living beings.

The millions of acres of forests provide oxygen to the world; it's apt to call such areas as the lungs of the world. Any harm to the forests will result in worse air quality, less preservation of ground water, drastic climate changes. We are not adept in such adaptation to massive changes in climate. Changes of this nature has already taken down the dinosaurs; changes that was arguably brought on by meteors hitting the earth - without any intervention of the living beings. We should not be the reason for our own destruction. Restraining the use of the nature needs educating the citizens and imposing laws to thwart the outlaws and the over enthusiastic businesses. We have reached a time when technological growth has brought innovations to solve problems with least resources and it's continuing to do so. Encouraging minimalistic approach in the consumption of resources will result in better preservation of the nature. So, the nations have to come up with initiatives to encourage using technology to better the problem solving and lessen the use of nature. Laws should be at par the necessity without being pernicious to the nature and not hindering the economic growth. The leaders of the nations has to realize the subtle difference between economic growth and economic gain. Growth should be all-encompassing - inclusive to the benefit of the civilization and preservance of the ecology - just enough for our needs. Gain always keeps greed as it's focus and greed always leads to destruction.

Also, to keep a balance in the flora and fauna of the ecology, it's important that we rationalize the benefits of keeping the wilderness in their natural state. Doesn't matter how digital and technology savvy a nation becomes, nature will always have its own lush beauty that can never be replaced. One can heal the scars, invisible to eyes, in the arms of mother nature and mere company of intelligent robots or social network can do nothing in that regard. It's in our benefit that we understand the cause and the nation has to take stance in that regard. Destruction is easy and is not always reversible. Myopic outlook will only bring temporary growth, if at all, and eventually cost more for the restoration of the nature. It's the fact that such destruction is brought on by only handful of people. Thus to control such behavior, it's necessary to impose stringent laws and even if that needs to regulate the development for economic gain.