In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Art is the expression of the self: the feelings, vision, understanding; either with reallife assiciations or abstrat ideas, colored with one's own idiosyncrasy. What is important to undestand is that every mind has different understanding and perspective to one idea or to any object. While it may seem judging an art with it's quality in comparison to others, brings out the real merit, the true merit lies on the eyes of the beholder in understanding the sometimes unexplained. Also, we need to understand art is a form of expression and it gets better, like other skills, with practice and maturity of thoughts. The visceral feelings of a fledgeling artist when reprimanded by the intelectuals for it's naivete, might get a future picaso or matisse, nip in the bud.

We human beings are inherently negative minded; whenever there is a vacant mind, there will be some thought that leads to negativity. Even prolonging a positive thought eventually leads to exhaution and brings negativity in mind. Now think about the judging a poem of a little kid by the behemoths and denounce it in front of that kid as being a solecism, would not just be rude, but it'll ingratiate fear in the budding poet that he or she is not good enough. It's utmost important to understand that constructive criticism does better to the humanity not the negative or destructive criticism. Naive form of art should be encouraged to do better and be given direction as to what needs to be done to make it better; and by better, it means better to the artist. For most people to understand a form of art, it requires similar mind set and the capacity to understant it. Someone with inclination towards writing may not necessarily find painting to be that much attractive. But does that reduce the merit of Henry Matisse? It is invariably true, that more people in the world know Pablo Picasso than the other exponent. It's unfortunate that sometimes money and the amount of promotion any form of art garners, dives it the edge compared to other form of art or to one artist within the same form of art. To everyone's surprise, the only grief one artist can have, in most cases, is the inability to support the livelihood due to the apparent lesser merit in his art and the little monetary gains it fetches. Though most are oblivious of the criticism and continues their love and faith in art. In such case, it's the inability of most of the people and not the merit, that plunges an artist and the art into darkness.

To understand any art, the society needs to be all encompassing in accepting and relishing every form of art. Critiques are always needed, but to better the skill of expression, not to associate marks or merit to one and the other. France is one country which boasts such a cultural motley and continues to be a proponent in art: be it the engineering marvel, Eiffel Tower, or the sculptures and arts in the Louvre.

It's true that a beginner in film production will not have that expertise an established one has. It's the experience that keeps honing the skills and making it a better presentation. As they say, if one pours one's heart out, any art will reach to every individual's heart. Thus, it's important to note that mere association of merit based on the comparison of art is not a qualified process as art can seldom be quantified. Art needs the sense and not just the intake through the sensory organs to feel it. It doesn't need everyone to understand to get it's merit. It mostly needs another individual to really understand it. That will be more than enough to any artist to bolster the faith in his own form of art.