Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

At this point, it is very important for the Nations of the world to protect forests and wildlife that is left in their nations. In the history of the earth, there has never been an instance where protecting the flora and fauna has become utmost important. It is majorly on these left over reserves of forests that the future of the earth relies upon.

The forests serve as habitat to a variety of speices. Since the inception of Indusrial Revolustion, we have been clearing these forests for a variety of uses. This is resulting in disrupting the natural habitat of wildlife which is ultimatly causing them to succumb to death. We are witnessing extinction of many species due to many nature disrupting human activities. This could lead to an imbalamce in the food chain which only aggrevates the extinctions of wildlife species further more. A few people also hunt wildlife for making money. For example, tigers are hunted for their skin and nails, elephants are killed mercylessly for their ivory tusks, babies of chimpanzee are smuggled to sell them etc. All of these acitivites will lead to extinction of various species in no time if the states do not pass strong legeslations for preserving the wildlife.

After industial revolution, we are releasing carbondioxie into the atmosphere at an unprecended rate. As a result, the temperatures have been raising all over the world. Trees absorb carbondioxide from the atmoshpere for photosynthesis thus reducing the carbondioxide levels in the atmosphere. This process regulates the amount of carbondioxde in the atmosphere and thus regulating the global temperatures. We have already brought down vast reserves of forests which is increasing the global temperatures at an alarming pace. We are facing extreme weather patterns like droughts, flash floods, study yealy increase in maximum temperatures, raise in sea level etc. This patterns will contiue to deteriorate if the countries all over the world bring into action strong laws to protect the forests.

Forests also helps us to see mother nature in its natural state. They give us a peace of mind. Forests can be used for recreational purposes. In this way the Goverment can generate revenue but in a way beneficial to both the nature and mankind. Forests can help subsequent generations understand how earth appears naturally. It is these left over forests that we can hand down to our progency.

There are a few places in the world that destroy forests and wildlife for economic development, One such case that has come to world attention is burning of Amazon forest in Brazil. Amazon forest is considered as the biggest carbondioxide sink on earth. Goverment officials of Brazil aruge that if it does not cut down the forest, there is no scope of economic development in their country. The nations in the world should come together to deal with such crisis. These countries should be helped economically as the whole world depends on such reserves. By protecting the forests it is not only the home nation which gets benifitted but the whole world recevies its fruits.

As the saying goes, "It is better late than never", the world nations should come together to come to a consensus to pass legeslations that protect whatever is left of the forests for the longevity of both the nature and the mankind. The nations should also work together to help developing countries economically so that the developing countries donot have to chop down the forest with economic development as an excuse.