Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to the Scientist A nation should keep at least 25% of its wilderness for maintaining the ecological balance of that state. World that denied it has faced with natural calamities and consequence. The prompt says that a state should keep its remaining wilderness in natural state even if it could be developed for economic gain. I strongly agreed with the prompt for the following reason.

Firstly, We do not really understand what wilderness offer us. We think it is just wastage of land without being used. But it is also serving a purpose and it is doing many things for us which money can not do. For instance, trees give us oxygen. We take oxygen to breathe. If we destroy the forest we will not be able to get the required oxygen we need for the breathing. If we can not breathe we will die. Moreover, according to the researcher, the world has less amount of wilderness that it really need. The situation is already not very good. By destroying the rest of the wilderness we are going to make the situation worse.

Furthermore, we are dependent on the wilderness for many of our needs. Many people survive collecting the resource from it. For instance, Sundarban in Bangladesh is supposed to be a mangrove forest. It is situated in the division of Khulna and district of Sathkhira. Economy of the people on Sundarban largely dependent on the resource collected from the Sundarban. People of Sathkhira collect Honey , fish, wood, and sells them in market. Many also plant Lobster, prawn in the nearby area of Sundarban. If we are going to destroy the sundarban, it will have serious consequence on the life of the people. Many will be jobless. From the above example we can say that it will have serious consequence on the economy of country too.

Many of the people can argue that if we develop this areas into economic zone it will better serve us economically than it is doing now. Then, how will we manage the oxygen and the biodiversity it provide us. We should keep in mind that we can't even count money keeping our breathing stop. A wilderness can't be replaced by something else.