49. Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

There is an old adage which marks the importance of listening to be good learner, even if the you do not share views of the orator. In fact, adopting this methodology will give one several advantages over others who do not prefer to listen or discuss the matter with people possessing contradicting views. It can help the person to present to defend his own theory for future arguments and can render him the opportunity to look at the problem with different perspective. In my opinion one gets to learn more from the people with opposing viewpoint. This will be analyzed in details in the following paragraphs.

For first, it is very natural for humans to have different point of view on a matter. But that does not necessarily mean the person with opposite view point is incorrect. In fact, there are several instances in the history where the person believed to be aberrant was later accepted to be correct. Consider, for example, the case of Aristarchus, who was the first person to propose the idea of heliocentric solar system. Initially people did not believe him and some even demanded to punish him for going against the scared sculptures. Had people listened to him, even though they did not share his belief, they would have expanded the horizons of learning which was in the interest of both.

In addition to that, it is not always true that discussion with people of opposing view point will always turn into altercation which thwart the learning process. Studies have concluded that the policies which are framed after discussion with opposition are more likely to succeed than that of others. Discussion with opposition on a topic help one look at the policies in a different manner. There might be circumstances where the two parties or people do not agree on all elements but they do share some ideas. This can help in improvising the reforms unanimously. For instance, all of us aware of the ongoing trade war between U.S. and China. They have certain differences in their trading policies due to which economy of both countries is suffering and recession is looming over the globe. How can they mitigate the differences without negotiating? In order to resolve any issue discussion is vital. Discussions pave the way for positive results and offers an occasion to learn from each other.

Perhaps, if the situation is contained properly then one gets more to learn from people with conflicting view point. Not only this further learning but this technique also equips one with tools to tackle differences which otherwise could be disastrous sometimes.