Before dwelling deep into the way how laws should be applied, one should first ask himself a few questions about the laws. What are laws? Why did the government framed laws? For whose well-being did laws were imposed? The simple answer to this question is that all pain staking efforts were to ensure the equality in the society. Along with equality, laws, in the form of constitution, guarantee an individual a right to freedom, justice and education as well. The most compelling reason behind framing laws was the inequality among the society. There was an urgent need to overcome such problems, which is why erudite from all across the world framed laws. Does it make any point to have a flexible law which can be molded according to situation, time or need. To me it does not.

First of all, a set of laws is imposed on all being, irrespective of the race, religion, sex or financial capability of an individual. But if laws were to be flexible, they would have been easily used in favor or against mundane people, by influenced people like politicians and bureaucrats. These aristocrats would have reformed them according to their need and demand. For instance, the supreme court of America found that some affluent people were using forged sports certificates to help their children get admitted to top schools. Once this scam was noticed by the court, they probed an inquiry and those who were found guilty were fined and incarcerated for months. Now consider the scenario if the laws would haven flexible? Those all elite class people would have bribed the judges to roam freely.

Secondly, it is human tendency to compare themselves with other humans. They not only compare in terms of richness but also in terms of the rules governing the affluent class people and themselves. Since any form of government is elected by both, common people and elite class people, it is the responsibility of the government to ensure that same rules are applicable on everyone. Otherwise, it will stir up the public opinion leading to chaos and protests.

So in my opinion, no one solely should have the authority to amend laws. Having said there might be some genuine cases where a reform is required for the benefit of all people. At such juncture, a committee should be framed to analyze the need and consequences of the amendment to laws. Laws were meant for the proper functioning of a government and society, so we should let them serve the purpose.