Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Education system is one the key element that decides the fate of students and even the growth and development of a nation. The education policies and reforms should be adopted very cautiously, considering the suggestions of the students. The argument asserts that educators should consider the students opinions while deciding the curriculum for them. The argument is fallacious and inconclusive since implementing this policy could be obnoxious at certain situation. In my opinion this policy should be rather situation specific than generalized.

At first, yes, it is true that in any field it is vital to have feed back from the users or populace to improve the existing system. But in the education system there are several other elements that should be taken in consideration along with the student’s opinion. Consider for example, the scenario when students suggest to include a specific subject based on the current job opportunities. The novice students are not aware of the market trends and are lured to high paying jobs. The markets are susceptible to demand and supply. What if the trends change by the time the student graduates? Wouldn’t they blame the system and education system for not counseling them? Of course, they will and they might even loose faith in the education or government.

In addition to that, adolescents are usually undecided as in which subject to pursue their carrier. At this vital juncture they are no position to suggest anything to educators. In fact, it is the teachers who educate them about the options available by narrowing down their search. For instance, a sagacious student who has scored well in all the subjects might be confused in terms of furthering his education in science. Although he is unaware of strengths and weaknesses but his tutor is well aware of his strengths and will guide him to the correct path.

On the contrary to that, several studies have concluded that success rate increases exponentially if a student is let choose his field on interest. But this approach has subtle elements such as differentiating between interest and scope of facilities. For instance, a student, who want to further his education in artificial intelligence. There are many countries which are battering to fulfill the basic needs of the populace and thus, cannot afford to have required research facilities for artificial intelligence. In this case the teachers would have to guide the students with the other available options or convince them to apply to a foreign university where optimum research facilities are available.

In conclusion, the decision, whether or not to, include the suggestions of students should be situation specific. This approach would be in the interest of both educators and students.