Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supp

Indeed, the educational institutes play a vital role in counselling of the students. The decision, which courses to take up and which to not, can have a life long impact from the career perspective. But it would not be difficult to find a consensus that educational institutions are meant to tech students other lessons as well such as leading a social and meaningful life, rather than just tempting students for all the monetary benefits post their education. We will have an actual insight through the points discussed in following paragraphs.

First of all, instead of diverting the interest of students to money, the educational institutions should encourage them to pursue the studies in their field of interests. Let us assume, that even if a student who does not have his interest in a particular subject is lured to study it just because of all the money he is going to make after his or her education. What are there any chances that he is going to succeed? In my opinion the success rate narrows because of the required grueling effort to study ponderous subjects. And even if he does study those mundane subjects, will he be able to match the potential and expertise of the student who has studies in his area of interest? A recently conducted survey shows that over last few decades, the students have been forced to study course out of their interests either due to the dreams of their parents or being tempted by the high paying jobs. Most of the persuaded student end up dropping the college or face hardship while securing a job. After learning the outcomes of forcing students into field of study other than their interest, the government has started several programs to teach parents about the possible outcomes and dissuading parents to avoid such actions.

Secondly, the students, whom institutions are encouraging to follow the money, are going to a part of the society and system of a nation. What picture will that covet society depict to future generations? Another perspective that stands against the argument is analysis of the demand of market. Consider, for example that a student opted for a course that had larger number of job offerings and high salary at the time when the student has opted for a particular course. But by the time the he or she has finished his/her education the market trends change and the salary offered is much less than he anticipated. Wouldn’t that student be vulnerable to such market trends. On the other hand, if that student had pursed his area of interest, he would have been confident and motivated to achieve his goal.

Lastly, one might argue that the ultimate goal of the education is making money. But had it been such way there would not have been people who have even resigned from a reputed job to follow their dreams. Instead of encouraging students to lucrative jobs the educational institutions should teach them to be virtuous and how to satiate themselves by targeting their goal of interest.