Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

The preposition has concluded the questioning approach as the best possible solution to get actively involved while studying at a college or school. Though this strategy might prove beneficial to tackle issues such as “vacant look listening”, at certain junctures but it can also have negative impact on students at times. We need to delve deeper to analyze both negative and positive aspects of this policy.

At first, it is certainly true that cross questioning can help students cope with the problem as “vacant look listening”. This is a condition when the listener seem to be physically present at place but mentally absent. The listener is looking right at the speaker, as if he is very attentive and thereby duping the speaker to take off. In recent times psychologists are diagnosing more and students encountering this challenge. Consider for example, the survey conducted by the University of Water loo. They invited as many as one thousand students from all across the world and a parley was held on the recent climate change impacts. Later when the students were provided the questionnaire- with covering only topic discussed- many students failed to answer even simplest questions due to lack concentration. Applying the proposed theory will lead to the active participation of listener in the lecture or discussion.

In addition to that, the benefit of cross questioning is one method to determine the credibility of the speech or teaching approach. Recently a study has found that the history of America and civil war – which is taught to many students at school- was found faulty. Many students, when questioned- agreed that either some information from the history was missing or misleading. For example, some teachers told students that slavery was good for the African people since any lord would take good care of his slave due to the expenses incurred while purchasing that asset. Well, everyone knows that’s not the truth.

In contrary to that, the excess questioning can lead to digression from the pivotal topic and eventually all students will suffer due to loss of time. In another case, there could be a student who lacks the superficial knowledge of the subject and is struggling to cope up with other students. In my opinion, rather than disturbing the whole class, he should ask the tutor to address his doubts outside class. It goes the other way too, where a brilliant student is learning something advance which is not pertinent to subject. In these cases, the questioning theory would lead not only his failure but of the whole class.

Conclusively, the proposed strategy has both pros and cons as discussed. So, it would be prudent to apply this theory on case to case basis.