Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Political leaders are public representatives. They are exalted to that position by the public mandate so it is their sole responsibility to engage themselves in public welfare. They should advocate to bring justice to one who is oppressed, to ensure the government policies are implemented properly and to stand side by side with the public, whenever and wherever required. But having said that does not, at all mean, that politicians should safeguard the public when and if they are not correct or a sect of public demand something that is against the overall community. Many aspects will be analyzed in the following paragraphs.

For first, we should analyze that are there any parameters that define a good politician? The obvious answer would be no there are not. But one would be able to fetch the answer if, characteristics, qualities, decisions and policies of great leaders such as Abraham Lincoln, Nelson Mandela is analyzed. The most prominent quality of these politicians was the flexibility of their decisions. They have taken many momentous decisions during their reign but all were influenced by the welfare of public as a whole and not dedicated to group of people. For example, the abolishing the slavery was in favor of the entire public thereby giving everyone fair chance to grow and prosper. It is that law which has given many black origin scientists.

Another point to be considered is the dilemma that if a political leader even gives up the principle for the benefit of the people, will a large group of people ever find a consensus on any issue? One can imagine how difficult it will be for the political leader to come to conclusion. Consider for example, that one group of people want to region to be opened to new industries that would bring employment to the region. While another group of the people claims that though this could bring some employment but the after effects in the form of environment pollution will be devastating. Now in that it should be a political leader who should weigh down the pros and cons, and then come to a conclusion.

Looking at the other facet of the coin, one might claim that political leader should take the decisions only after concurrence of the public since he is elected by the public. But this claim is fallible because if the political leader himself is not committed to certain objectives then how will the people, who tend to follow their political leaders.

All in all, sticking to the objectives and commitments is better approach for public welfare. Such exemplary political leader will not only motivate the young generation but he will be able satiate the public altogether.