Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In dev

The preposition here argues that the quality of learning suffers if the emphasis is more on grades rather than acquiring knowledge. The very basic purpose of any form of education is to facilitate the students with knowledge which can be further realized for betterment of the society and their own development. But in today’s world the education is becoming job oriented and good grades are the elementary qualifying requirements. Yes of course, it is true that the grades reflect the potential of a candidate but only good grades are touchstone to capability would be certainly wrong. The argument needs further analysis to come up with a conclusion.

At first, there are several junctures in the life of student where good grades are the deciding factors for pursuing education of their choice. Consider for example, the importance of the high school grades for a student who want to further his research on bio-technology. But since this research requires very unique and expensive paraphernalia only few top and government funded colleges possesses them. In order to secure a seat at those colleges’ grades are given more weightage than other elements. So, in this situation grades prove to be more helpful than anything.

On the contrary to that, studies have observed that students suppress their creativity when they are in pursuit of good grades. The reason behind this result is the process of following certain pattern of learning which decimates the creativity. To be innovative one has to think out of box, which in this case, might lead to loss of grades. For instance, Albert Einstein, in his early age was thought to be abnormal because he did not till age of 3. But one day when he spoke, while dinner, his parents were exhilarated. When they asked him the reason for not speaking till now, he said that he discovered everything to be perfect till now.

Having said that there are some stages where learning is more or less proportional to the grades. Early schools, for instance, reward infants for scoring good grades. These rewards encourage children to actively participate in studies, which is vital for the growth and development of brain.

In conclusion, the argument stands to be true at some stages while nullified at other. So, generalizing that good grades limit the quality of learning at all points of time would be justified. A piece meal approach of analyzing the situation is testimony to the aforementioned theory.