Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Although the argument by the author, to shift focus to current problems, might seem convincing at first but if it is analyzed deeply then only one would be able to have an actual insight of the implications of the decision. In any form of society, it is obvious to have some problems. These problems though, should be prioritized based on the need of people. Let us first analyze the argument before finally arriving to a conclusion.

For first, let us examine if a government pays more attention the current problems. Consider for example, that a country is suffering from a dip in its economy and people are losing their jobs. So, for any government it will be on their priority list to boost up the economy and introduce certain programs to retain the job of its people. But how if we more deeply scrutinize to find the cause of collapsing economy? After several studies economists and analysts suggested that the main cause behind looming economy are the policies of earlier government, which only focused on the then problems and did not framed any policies for upcoming challenges to the job industry. The earlier government failed to analyze that by next five years the export will reduced due to extra tax levied by importing countries. Although the government did focus on the then issues but would anyone consider that decision to be correct?

Coming to other facet of the coin, if a government focuses on the future problems and is unable to invest in the solutions for current problems is also going to have the same fate as explained earlier. For example, a government is investing and planning to deals with the problems of depleting water sources, raising pollution and rate of consumption of fossil fuels. The same government on the other hand is facing a epidemic disease that has caused millions of people to lose their lives. Although important, but should they be focusing on the future problems at all? And that too when its own people are facing such grievous problem.

In fact in my opinion it is always vital for a government to find a balance between focusing on current problems as well as future problems. Every government has limited source of funding which it should invest prudently in cultivating the solutions to future problems as well as current problems.