Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Let it be education or the life of an individual, what matters today and, even during medieval times, is the degree of freedom one should be entitled. The universities compulsion to take up outside courses might discourage and dishearten the students and, in some cases, it could turn to protest as well. In any case the objective of the university will not be fulfilled. Rather than making outside courses compulsory, the universities should focus on offering more options in core streams. The repercussions of this policy are analyzed in following paragraphs.

Firstly, if one is compelled to take up outside courses, this action will hurt the focus of the student. Consider, for example, if an engineering student is forced to deal with some linguistic course then he is surely going to encounter challenges since his basics are not clear in that field of study. These challenges would engender other difficulties such as focusing on his main stream courses. It is obvious though, that if focus is lost, his grades are going to suffer badly. His chance of getting accepted, for higher education, narrows thereby as universities major parameter for assessing the capability of student is his grades.

Secondly, we are in 21st century, the age of science and technology. The level of competition has been increased rapidly over the last few decades. This goes hand on hand with the demand of more and more specialization, rather than just having superficial knowledge of the subject. For the same reason and analyzing the industry, the universities now a days are offering more and more super specialization courses. This is a testimony to the demand of the market. Let us assume that one possesses the basic knowledge of more courses. Will it help him securing a job with such paramount level of competition?

Last but not the least, one might argue that opting for outside courses will give one the advantage over other applicants while securing a job. But they should first understand the trend of the market these days. Even students who has got average grades are knocked out of the competition. There is an old adage that “the person travelling in two boats is surely going to sink”.

So, in conclusion, it is better to opt for more specialization than for studying outside courses. The whole idea of teaching outside courses will never achieve its goal and the future opportunities for students will narrowed.