Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Since the evolution of the mankind, society has been divided into various classes. Every section of the society was allocated a specific responsibility and majorly high-class people, or aristocrats were endowed with administrative powers. But the transition of society from monarchy to democracy has rendered an equal opportunity window to all sections of the society. This mutation led the potent mundane people to rise to the pinnacle of societies hierarchy and that movement has inspired numerous of people to live up to the expectations of their ideals. We will analyze few of them in the following paragraphs.

First, almost major section of the society has some sort of ideal figure, to follow, envisaged in back of their mind. That ideal could be a living being who has battled with the challenges of life and without loosing hope of success, kept of devoting his/her life to the cause. Abraham Lincoln, for instance, after failing for 14 times finally became the first African American president of America. He has inspired million of people of African descent to go out in the society with the views that they shared. Being the ideal for millions of people one could simply have to know the ideals of the society by just learning the ideals of role model figure.

In addition to that, there could a be contention that how these role models have such large followers and even if they follow, that does not necessarily bind the followers to imitate their ideals. The reason for such momentous following is either act of courage and determination, or the urge to keep all the hard work even when they were deprived of the basic needs. Something that make followers to share the ideals with role models, is the proclivity of common people to place themselves in the shoes of their role models. For example, during second world war, the Nazi government were propagating the heroic acts, to die for the sake of motherland, of soldiers. This propaganda of portraying them as role models of the society helped scads of youth to join military and ultimately dying for the same cause that their role models did. Many studies have approbated this theory.

In Conclusion, the argument of author depicts the correct picture of the society. One can have deep insight of the character and values of the society by simply learning about the ideals of the role models of that specific period. The limitation of this theory is that it is valid if study is done for only a certain epoch.