Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The argument proposes a polemical policy which suggests that the salaries of teachers should be in proportion to their student’s performance. Many conducted studies has articulated the need of reforms to quintessential education system of the society. Though almost all the governments were reluctant due the potential impact on their vote bank, since it will directly influence a large section of the society. In my opinion, this is the time to act and paying teachers in accordance with the academic performance of their students should be enacted as the first step.

A deep insight into the current education system will impetus the reform process along with the hurdles to overcome. Education system is the back bone of any nation and it is the responsibility of the government to frame salutary policies without having myopic view of the picture. In our society, everyone has been awarded some form of responsibility as teacher, politicians, scientists and doctors. These responsibilities are also source of butter and bread of that specific person. It is their sole responsibility to ensure the proper functioning of the department and they are accountable for the result, be it good or bad. If other departments such as banks held their employees responsible for their actions, which leads to end result, then why not teachers?

In addition to that it has also been observed that if the policy mentioned by the author is implemented then it will directly or indirectly lead to increase in the productivity of teachers. Quality of the education will be improved and the craving to earn good salaries will exhort him to devote more time in learning the new tools to aid their teaching techniques, which will eventually reflect in the performance of the student as positive result. Consider for example, the report- published in International journal of education research- has found that since the salary of the government school teachers is fixed, irrespective of the result of the students, they are indifferent to the performance of the students. Contrary to that, in private sector run schools, it is indisputable policy to analyze the performance of the teachers which in turn feed the quality of education and continuous progress. It is after reading this journal report, I realized no wonder why all people want to send their children to private schools.

One might argue that if this policy is implemented then teachers might ask to force the same policy on every other department. While this may seem easy at first but not all the professions can be imposed with result-oriented salaries. For instance, a scientist working in a lab to find a new drug to combat might or might not succeed at the end but does that mean he is not performing his duty sincerely? No, that does not. So, there will be always such exceptions to any policy.

In conclusion, to thwart the deteriorating quality of education, one has to take the initiative to bring a change. The best approach to implement any policy is to start at a small scale and study its outcomes for further planning.