Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Since the existence of the earth many species have prospered in the harmony with other species. For millions of years, prior to the evolution o f humans, flora and fauna, have contributed to each other’s existence. But it was coveting humans, who has devoted to the loss of habitat of other species bringing many of them to the brink of extinction. There is an old adage that “if there were no wilderness, the humans would die in 50 years and if there were no humans, other species would have prospered”. This apothegm elucidates the reality of today's world.

In my opinion, there is no other contributor than humans for the plight of endangered species. Although there have been several species going extinct prior to human evolution but extant fossils suggest that those extinctions were caused by the drastic changes in the ecology of the earth by itself. No evidence has been found to claim that one species superiority lead to the extinction of others. In modern era of industrialization, plethora of studies have concluded that other species have paid the price of human growth. Consider for example, owing to the increasing population, the demand for food has increased several folds over last few decades. The price of this shortfall in food is being paid by the marine species specially by Blue Tuna fish. Due to over-fishing in the Atlantic and Pacific Ocean, biologists quantify, that the number of fishes has plummet by 80% over last two decades. This drastic change has not only threatened the Blue Tuna fish but also human’s own survival due to imbalance in the food chain.

In addition to that, human activities, advertently or inadvertently, contribute to loss of habitat of other species. Building dams, to meet the growing needs of human’s, is another good example of their role in disturbing ecological balance. Beavers, once flourished all across over African continent. They play a vital role in maintaining the ecological balance by creating But since almost most of the water is stored in dams for electricity production, beavers lost their habitat as rivers dry up. The dried rivers not only threatened the very survival of Beavers but the fish, which grow in the dams and canals built by Beavers, have also gone extinct.

In conclusion, directly or indirectly, humans have devoted to the cause of many other pieces and pristine wilderness. The rising temperatures of oceans, due to global warming, has also proved detrimental to aquatic life. So, if we humans don’t take the right step to protect endangered wildlife, we will be doomed all to soon.