In any situation progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

The preposition here argues, how discussion between people with contrasting view point can contribute to overcome an impasse. The gist of this argument lies in the vision to differentiate discussion with conclusion. Most often people confuse discussion with conclusion and percept that it is the other person whose ideas are going to dominate, putting his ideas in the back seat or even trash at sometimes. Further analysis will make one decipher this enigma.

Firstly, we should try to understand the motive behind organizing a parley by any functionary. It is assumed that any meeting conference will render everyone equal opportunity to put their view points for assessment and final decision will be taken unanimously. It’s very natural to have differing opinions, since everyone has its own way of thinking. In fact, one should prefer to discuss matters with people having contrast point of view to mitigate the differences or to come to conclusion which is in the interest of both. Consider for example, the trade war of U.S. and China. Although they are yet to come up with a conclusion, but there is still a hope of ray due because of the continuous negotiation’s efforts and several rounds of meetings. Had these two countries, largest economies of the world, denied to discuss the matter, the situation would have gone worse and who knows even the recession clouds could be looming.

In addition to that, one should not avoid discussion considering himself/herself always superior to others at least, not before the discussion. Rather, the top management should encourage everyone to come up with ideas of their own to help tackle the slowing growth or other issues, if any. The concoct of solutions will not only provide a panoramic view of the problem itself but it will also alleviate them choose the feasible solution, which may be a cocktail of ideas.

On the contrary, the idea of discussion- involving people with opposite view points- could turn nasty sometimes paving the way to exacerbate the dead lock situation. This will further lead to no conclusion at the end of the meeting which can have devastating outcomes. In the UN meeting, for instance, we have seen some similar instances. During 1999, United Nations Security Council meet, the Israeli and Palestinian UN representatives were involved in a scuffle due to opinion differences. That scuffle later mutated into serious fights and the two representatives were seen throwing fisticuffs at each other. This was no good impression from such an esteemed international organization.

So, in conclusion the mood of people with opposite mindset must be very closely scrutinized before assembling them around the table. Otherwise, instead of resolving the differences the differences will turn into animosity.