The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The argument has proposed the future generations to be the deciding factor of the greatness of an individual. This theory might prove to be true in certain cases but considering this as the only parameter to define the greatness of any individual would be fallible. Further analysis of this argument will depict the loopholes of this theory.

At first, it would not be difficult be find consensus on the fact that some experiments have imminent outcomes while it takes years for other to evolve. But that does not necessarily imply the failure of the individual who conducted the experiment or proposed the initial theory. We have seen this throughout our history when the accomplishments of an individual are realized by the later generations. A testimony to that is the finding of the scientist Aristarchus, who was the first person to put forward the theory of heliocentric solar system. Most astronomers of that era not only rejected his theory but demanded to put him on trial for misleading people. Now we all know that his theory was absolutely correct.

In addition to that, there may be some instances in the medieval times when a theory was believed to true but later findings concluded it to be wrong or based on false assumptions. The planet earth, for instance, was believed to be flat by the Greeks and everyone seemed convinced at that time. But later in the 6th century B.C., another Greek philosopher, Pythagoras, proposed that earth is spherical in shape and he went against the Greek mythology, which at that time was considered as sinuous. Later scientists found that theory to be true and it still prevails. Although it was difficult for Pythagoras to persuade the philosophers of that time, to believe earth to be spherical, but later it was acknowledged by populace.

On contrary to that, history is testimony of many events where not only fellow scientists praised an individual for discoveries but that still has significance in modern science. For example, Albert Einstein has bestowed us with the theory of relativity. He conducted several experiments to prove his theory, to fellow scientists, who praised him for the discovery.

To sum up, it would not be justified to generalize an opinion on the achievements of a person simply by looking at one facet of the coin. Rather one should consider several consolidated aspects to make an opinion about someone.