A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the backbone of a nation. The policies should be framed and implemented vary prudently and cautiously. It is vital to study the repercussions of any policy before making it official. So is the case with the argument discussed by the author. Education is fundamental right guaranteed to an individual by the constitution of any nation. It is education which shapes the future of country. But educational policies have far more impact if they do not curb the liberty of the students. This is analyzed in the following paragraphs in detail.

For first, a country might host very diverse population. Depending on the race, ethnicity, culture and background, students might develop different interests. Students set their goals at very early stages of life, based on their interests. A study has shown that the people form different culture want their coming generations to learn values of their tradition. While if that perspective in not taken into consideration during implementing a generalized curriculum then, it may result into either schism of guardians into sect or will eventually lead to protests. One might even blame the government for gerrymandering.

Another perspective is the interest and the ability of the students. For proper functioning and prosperity of a nation, it needs a team of expertise that constitutes of doctors, engineers, lawyers, politicians, linguistics etc. But if all the students are forced in to the same gorge irrespective of their interests then the situation will result into mayhem. Consider, for example, a child who is physically strong and have keen interest in sport activities. If that child is forced to study something beyond his ability and interests, that will eventually lead to his failure. Not that it will be only his failure, the nation has failed him. He could have been a great sportsperson, who would have made his nation shine at global level.

The gist of this argument lies in scrutinizing the possibilities of how to get the best out the resources that a nation possesses in the form of young brains. One needs to develop tools and techniques for analyzing the consequences of a policy. It should be a win-win situation for both the students and the nation.