College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Passion and love is the essence of any achievement in the history of human civilization. Without the zeal one cannot progress in their chosen field of study, neither can they make any contribution to the society for a greater good. Colleges are to hone the skills of the novices to buttress the fledgling ideas and guide them into attaining reality. Mere jobs should not be a goal in college education. That will debilitate a whole generation in guiding them to a wrong direction, while they could have prospered in their field of interest.

Colleges are homes for budding authors, writers, scientists, lawyers and in that the aim is to abridge the gap in molding the passion into professional and personal growth. After the rudimentary knowledge from the middle schools, colleges are to cater to the selective path one chooses to delve deep to rip benefits in personal achievements as well as in societal contribution. Running after job and in turn, money, can only lead to perpetual mediocrity. It's the holistic approach to life that one looks up to garner in a higher educational institute rather than the thraldom of utilitarianism. No good can ever be achieved by bombarding the ebullient minds towards materialistic gains. It will eventually push a whole generation to a life of 9 to 5 job - that they don't like - that they don't care in improving.

It's not just the harm that such an encouragement can bring, it also looms large on the society and its betterment. Colleges are the places for radical ideas - ideas that can bring changes, unforeseen, are the places where the future statesmen will see their agitations nd debates shaping the society and the world at large. What if Einstein was encouraged to pursue law to work for a prestigious law farm? We wouldn't be having the theories in physics to untangle the intricate nuances of the universe at the nuclear level. The dream of quantum computing would never start budding - the solar panels would never be created - theory of relativity would be non existant.

Although, it can be argued that, following passion doesn't fetch one the living that one expects. Pursuing the goal of being a writer may be a difficult path to earn money and live a lavish life. Hoping to scratch a mark in the field of music may be even daunting a task, as the industry is of cut-throat competition. Still, pursuing studies to get a job doesn't justify the ability to earn. Life happens once and one should live up to one's dream. And for jobs, colleges can have vocational training to help one get a suitable job to earn enough for a livelihood.

In retrospection, we can certainly conclude that colleges should encourage one to pursue one's dream and help in bettering the skills one possesses and thereby encouraging personal growth and the growth of the society. Courses to lead one to job should be optional and available to take up as a vocational course. Thus the balance remains attainable and will eventually do better for the student and society.