The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Wearing helmet is important as it prevents from major injuries. In this argument, the author has surmised that measures other than helmet need to be promoted so as to educate the people to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents; however there is no any plausible evidence to back up this conclusion. The given premises are valid; however, they seem to be incomplete and need further deliberate study to come up with a more tenable, valid, and cogent conclusion. The argument, put forth in here, is rife with holes and fallacious assumptions.

Without any clear evidence, the author has opined that negligence of bicyclist has increased accidents even though they wear helmets. In the ten year period there is increased percentage of bicyclist wearing helmets and also there is an increased in the percentage of major injuries in the same time period; however, the author’s claim is fallacious as there could be plethora of factors that can result accidents. Without a doubt, the carelessness of driver could result accidents. But, there could be external factors other than rider themselves which brings about serious accidents.

Had the author surveyed more details, he would have come up with other important avenues that could cause accidents. For example, perhaps the quality of helmets is not good enough to protect the rider properly. Perhaps there myriads of fledgling bicycle riders who have no good control over bike riding led to the accidents. Furthermore, the number of vehicles plying the road might have increased exponentially but the road has not been widened, therefore, narrow road and heavy traffics might have increased the accidents.

The author assumes that despite the greater use of helmets by bicyclists, the number of accidents soared: the bicyclist felt safe with helmets ignoring other safety measures that could have minimized the injuries. The author should not make a generalized assumption without meticulously analyzing other factors. For example, the bicycle accidents could have caused by the carelessness of the car driver or pedestrians. They get, very carelessly, in the way of bicyclist that brought about the accidents. Perhaps there are potholes in the road that caused the accidents, which in turn resulted major injuries.

Despite having developed solid evidences, the author should not draw conclusion. The author should have explored other factors that could have resulted greater percentage of bicycle accidents. The author needs to conduct more detailed study to yield fully developed, more reliable and convincing assumptions.