he surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

For historians, their are several elements they may use to regard whether or not a nation should be admired or not. one may be the achievements of the experts in humanities or natural sciences. another, in contrast, is the general welfare of the people. In my point of view, the demarcation of the two facet may be problematic, since they are internally related. Nevertheless, if I were the one who attempt to evaluate which nation is the greatest one in the future, I still believe that the benediction of the whole civilian is the most significant one.

The reason why I believe that the two indicators for a good nation are in fact inter-related is because only those polities that concern and would like to nourish well esteemed scholars and artists are good nations. For those notorious ones who the dictator only take care of his or her own profit, they won’t take a minute ponder how can they help those who want to pursuit in aesthetics or academia. Lots of African countries may stand for good examples. The leaders who hold the power do not care about the people, and as a result, the people are suffering and no impressive achievements are made.

But indeed, even though the two indicators should not be separate clearly, the welfare of the people still represent a better indicator whether or not a nation should be appreciated. This is because some leaders would like to use the work from the nations’ artists or scientists to boost nationalism or regard it as successful representer of successful ruling. China and north Korea definitely are signal of these nations. The two East Asian polities have difficulty to be seen as great nations, as people of which are rushing to emigrate. Nonetheless, they still have some marvelous scientific works since the dictators show concern in the subjects.

another reason why I would see the welfare of people important when talking about great nations is because they do have profound implication. it suggest that the government or leadership is healthy, and no one have been neglected. take the north Europe nations like Norway for instance, although the scientific works have been done there aren’t commensurate to the US’s, the people there are in general taken care. In contrast, the conditions of some groups of people are so awful that it can be really awkward for evaluators who had meet these people to say America is a great country.

The reasons why the general welfare of the people may probably be a better indicator of a great nation. although the two are internally connected, sometimes the achievements of specific people may be used by the strongmen of the awful nations as tools to buttress patriotism.