The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Greatness is a subjective thing and it varies according to the perspective of people. Different people have different indicators of greatness for them. Accordingly, how a nation is judged varies with these different perceptions of people. However, in my view, greatness of a nation should be gauged by the welfare of people (whether people are happy and have access to all the basic needs), rather than other indicators with a very narrow scope- achievement of ruler, artists or scientist.

Most of the nations which are called “great” by people, though, may different level of artistic, political and scientific achievements possess only one common thing: general welfare of people. There are nations that have artistic, political or scientific achievements but are not regarded as “great”. North Korea, for instance, is a nation that has a great political power (it possesses power to waver the politics of Japan, South Korea and even U.S.). It has the most advanced nuclear weapon in the world- a major achievement of scientists of the country. And, seeing various cultural events held in different occasions, nobody can deny the artistic and cultural richness of the country. However, solely based on these indicators, can we say, “Hallelujah! I have found the greatest nation on the planet”? Obviously not, as we know that North Korea is one of the poorest nations in the planet and a large proportion of its population suffers from malnutrition and hunger.

On the other hand, Iceland is a small country in Europe. Though it may have its own scientific, artistic and political achievements, there is nothing so significant that we can hear about them outside. Still, Iceland is considered one of the great nations in Europe, with most of its population contended with the security and economic status of the country. According to the latest study, rarely a people die in Iceland due to murder or any criminal cause, and harmony and co-operation among the people is so strong that any outsiders is destined to envy.

Finally, some of the proponents of the above argument might argue that nations having artistic, scientific and political achievements should be considered great, because in addition to these achievements, the nation can be automatically gifted with general public welfare; the advantages of these achievements can easily diffuse to the society. However, society is never equal and there are many cases where only the contributors and well-off people have benefited from these achievements, leaving the poorer always poor. So, the best indicator of greatness of nation is always welfare of people.