Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the Wextent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is usually disputed whether or not scandals are more useful than any speakers or reformers in the field of public affairs. The effects of scandals are tremendous without doubt. However, I fundamentally disagree with the pro-scandal perspective since the side effect may be similarly devastating and scandals also fade easily.

Admittedly, the power of scandal can eclipse any speakers in a short time, thanks for publics’ interest to gossips. They are so powerful that even the most referenced celebrities can not get rid off. One examples can be adduced from Japanese academia. The Japanese Paleolithic Forgery Incident. The forgery was made by one part-time archaeologist, Mr. Kobayashi. His ‘’discoveries’’ were so important that can not only rewrite the history of Japan, but also change the concept of human dispersion. Although some archaeologists doubted the authenticity of the discoveries, they were afraid of proclaiming as the comments can be easily be interpreted as critics out of envy. The fame of the amateur archaeologist finally collapsed as his plot was recorded by reporters. This indicates that scandals are more useful sometimes.

However, the negative influences of scandals are also as strong as their advantages, and they may sometimes vague the core issue. I would like to address the Japanese Paleolithic Forgery Incident again. Because of the scandal, scientists in Japan or even the archaeologists around the world cannot trust almost all the excavations during the late 20 century. Lots of careful excavations are ignored since contamination of fake information cannot be precluded. This may not be the purpose of the reporter who revealed the incident.

Another reason why I personally don’t believe that scandals are more useful is because they are too easily to be forgotten. Publics’ interests to the next scandals make them neglect the previous ones momentarily. For example, the #Me Too movement, which did disclose several sexual scandals among Hollywood, didn’t truly change females’ marginality at all. Furthermore, the publics’ interest and spotlight is now focusing around politics instead of females’ right . This indicates that although scandals have temporary influence, real changes cannot be done without activists’ participation.

In a nutshell, I don’t really think scandals are as useful as , or even more useful than people who stand on the frontier calling out for changes. They are powerful, but they may also have strong side effects, and they can be neglected very soon. These are the reason why I fundamentally don’t agree with the argument in the question.