The following appeared as part of an article in a magazine devoted to regional life:

“Corporations should look to the city of Helios when seeking new business opportunities

or a new location. Even in the recent recession, Helios’s unemployment rate was lower

than the regional average. It is the industrial center of the region, and historically it has

provided more than its share of the region’s manufacturing jobs. In addition, Helios is

attempting to expand its economic base by attracting companies that focus on research

and development of innovative technologies.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that Corporations should look to Helios City when desiring new business chances in a new location is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that Helios offers opportunities to companies but not all of them, because Helios is willing to attract companies that focus on research and development of innovative technologies. That desire made financial or food and beverages corporations which innovation level is low, out of scope of Helios. Secondly, the argument never addresses shortage of employee problem for businesses, even during recession period, unemployment rate was lower. New companies could face finding qualified employee in Helios in given low unemployment rates. For example, Helios is industrial center of region that doesn’t provide us enough data about numbers of employees in financial branch. Finally, the argument omits expenses of firms in Helios. Prices of rents, land fees or average salaries of workers isn’t given in argument that’s why the city could be expensive for small corporations. Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of conclusion, Author’s assumption based on unemployment statistics of Helios, but other determinants didn’t be provided by author. Corporations make a broad research before looking for new opportunities in the region to decide city of Helios is good location. Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by given detailed reasons and evidence.