The following appeared as part of a campaign to sell advertising time on a local radio station to local businesses:

“The Cumquat Café began advertising on our local radio station this year and was delighted to see its business increase by 10 percent over last year’s totals. Their success shows you how you can use radio advertising to make your business more profitable.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The arguer concludes that radio advertising is a successful tool used by businesses to promote their products and services. The argument is based on the claim: 1) since the Cumquat Caffee began advertising on this local radio, their business has increased its totals by 10 percent more than last year. Stated this way, the argument is vague and unconvincing. It has poor reasoning and fails to mention several factors.

In the first place, the arguer claims that by using the radio advertisement, the business was able to thrive even more in the market. This argument is a stretch and doesn’t provide a clear idea. There are several reasons, why the business may have increased its profit. It is not only linked with their radio advertisement. Take, for example, other factors such as high prices of other competitors, which don’t really offer good quality at all. Thus, making people prefer the coffee of Cumquat. If the argument stated some facts and reasons, it would have been much clearer.

And it could be that marketed products gain more costumers, but this process can also be done through television promotions, campaigns or even through social media marketing. The technology nowadays has created very attractive advertisements ads for all ages. Again, the argument remains problematic and doesn’t create a strong logical idea.

Finally, the argument claims that the business increased by 10 percent over last year’s totals. This claim doesn’t show how much the total revenue and total sales were, in order to be more convincing. Real numbers are not provided to support such a claim.

In conclusion, the argument remains ill-defined and open to debate. It is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. The argument omits many factors, such as those mentioned above, that must be addressed in order to make a proper conclusion.