The following appeared as part of the Dean s newsletter quot The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well rounded

While the goal of the argument which is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society is noble and a good thought, the method proposed has a plethora of problems associated with it.

First, the objective of a university is to produce well-rounded active working members of a society which promotes the country's ecomony, while charity is a great way of understanding how to give back to society; forcing students into a mandatory charity service may have long term deleterious consequences or divert them altogether from the main goal of making them into charitable members of society. Charity done out of own free will is a reward of its own and an university can promote the awareness of any charity drives or organizations its supporting, however mandatory community service may cause them to perceive charity as free labour or irrelevant work which does not contribute them to becoming a more technically qualified individual which would be their main goal in joining an university in the first place.

Second, the proposed graduation requirement of completing at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months could be difficult for students engaged in part-time jobs or internships that they are present in. Any students involved in part-time jobs are already in the process of acquiring real-world working experience and find it difficult to balance studies and work life, thus incorporating mandatory community service on top of this may prove to a hassle. This may cause them to lose focus in either studies or their jobs having more profound implications in their personal life deviating them from the proposed universities objective. Furthermore, many students involved in part-time jobs may do so to have some financial stability to support their studies, forcing unpaid service may render them unable to maintain their financials, thus could be a valid reason for them to quit university altogether.

Third, any university is not within its rights to force students in what can be preceived as free labour, even in the good name of charity. A university's responsibility to provide the education needed by the individual to help them better pursue their dreams and passions. Local charities that are in need can hire volunteers whose interests are more in line with the charity organization that producing better results based on any funds provided by the university, rather than providing students whose interest may not align.

In conclusion, eventhough the argument puts forth a noble goal of creating well rounded and charitable members of society, it is not within its rights to force its students into activities that is not in line with their interests. Thus, it causes a detrimental effect on students that partake and deviate them the thought of charity altogether.