The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the Dean's newsletter, the author tells that the University of Wabash proposed a graduation requirement for students to completed complete community service. The interest of the University is to provide community service and made it mandatory for the students 2 hours a month and 9 months with unpaid salary. This forced claim on the students would raise argument with several flaws mentioned in the newsletter. Nevertheless, the author's conclusion for the argument is with unwarrented assumptions, not convincing as it stands.

First of all, the author assumes that students should take course of community service compulsory and stated the number of hours should the students do the work monthly. the author should should know that, is it mandatory course or those who are interested only takes the course and come up with the conclusion.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the most charities is in need to help, we particularly do not know what king of help the charity requires, it may be food, proper shelter, or the funding the charity needed. The people in charity may not effort for their hospital bills, they may need discount for the amount the treatment is being made. The author assumes that local charities require from the students which does not hold water.

In addition, the author assumes that it is fantastic opportunity for students, but some students may not be willing to do charitable considering their academic work into effect. There may be some students who are interested, but they can work on their own to do any such social work for people

In conclusion, the argument is not persuasive as it stands, it contains several flaws. To bolster it further, the author should provide detailed theory .. with proper evidence. Furthermore, in order to make this charitable event effective, it is better to take students who are interested rather than making mandatory.