The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The given argument seeks to get benefits in the form of objectives for the college and hence tries to take up community service as a point to achieve it.

First of all, the given newsletter states that they believe that community service helps to build well rounded members. Irrespective of the benefits to the college, each and every one must try to contribute or help towards society instead of some higher official from the college trying to impose such things on their students. Not only students but all the members of the college must participate in such activities.

College tries to propose some number of hours for such services. Instead of specifying such stringent limited hours for community services, students must try to contribute each and every day whenever possible. This should not be done for some personal benefits or grading scores. The newsletter also does not show any evidence that if students try to work for the number of hours and months specified, it helps them to build a well-rounded profile.

This could be one of the best thing that a university undertakes to increase the value of charity and giving back to society. But students must not take this up as some perfunctory task which has been made compulsory by the college and everyone should do the same.

Also the newsletter tries to thwart their students by keeping community service as a part of the graduation requirement. What if any student is already a part of such activities outside the college? Such scenarios should also be taken into consideration. Also university must try to provide enough ways in which students can contribute to such issues by they themselves contacting such charities instead of students reaching out to them.

At the end, I would like to say that instead of universities having such stringent guidelines for community services, students must take it up according to their interests and try to give back to community in any ways possible.