Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Logical reasoning is not the only factor that helps to create a moral society. Apart from that, morality cannot be enforced on someone until the person himself accepts what is difference between wrong and right behavior within a society.

One of the greatest contributing factor could be elders and peers. Children's basically imitate their elders and try to reproduce the same behaviors as elders do. Education might prove to be a mere theoretical concept for morality but practically accepting the behaviors completely depends on a given individual. Hence, although education might prove to be foundation for teaching of moral behaviors, it completely depends on a person, either to accept it or just avert from it.

Logical reasoning helps to some extent distinguish between what is wrong and right in a society. But having it as a single measure to build an entire structure of moral behaviors might prove to be unsuccessful. For example, suppose an individual joins a workplace and is completely unknown by the rules and regulations followed inside a particular project. He might then, just by following some prescribed rules try to maintain a moral behavior without actually implementing those in day to day tasks. This might not only affect his progress within an organization but might affect the project as well. Hence, only following a given prescribed rules might not suffice the need of project, but instead, following those rules with some logical reasoning might be fruitful for progress of a person as well as society.

Moral society is not just an amalgam of the above two factors, but indeed has some other points to be taken into consideration such as influences, behavior of an individual, etc. Hence, only considering logical reasoning or education to be the contributing factors would be obfuscated. After all, it depends on a particular person whether he will follow a given behavior or just ward off from it.

Implementing logical reasoning in educating moral behaviors might be the best way to produce a moral society. But thinking only for one side might not prove to be sufficient. Individual must himself try to maintain a moral behavior and must be able to differentiate between what is wrong or right in a given society. Therefore, although a person should be educated about morality, but education itself, alone, doesn't prove to be the foundation stone for morality.