The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above part of a petition tend to claim that Smith Corporations that plans to build a hotel on the land will have disastrous consequences on the sanctuary. Despite promising to preserve the sanctuary the environmental protection group claims this sale will explicitly harm the sanctuary. The above reports lacks sufficient amount of data that provides us an analysis about the approximate percentage of the land that the corporation has actually demanded for. Furthermore, they have claimed that the sale can never benefit the community without providing appropriate manifests that strengthens the argument.

In the final statement they concluded that the sale will never benefit the community. The statement is way too extreme. In order to prove the above claimed statement, there has to be some valid reasons along with some empirical examples. The report lacks both of them. There should be some investigation made upon this issue and the conclusions may turn out to be the opposite. Demanding a small proportion of land in order to enhance tourism may benefit the community in some way or the other.

The petition says a small percentage of land will be sold to Smith, however, they should provide an approximation of the percentage of the land that will be sold to the Smith and the amount of the land to be paid by the Smiths to the community. It might turn out that the proportion of the land is much smaller than the expectations and the amount concerned might be a myriad.

The report claims that the corporation will harm the birds living in the sanctuary. It is inappropriate to make an assumptions that explicitly impugns the integrity of the corporation. In order to question the corporation's will, there has to be some example or proof that strengthens the above stated critical argument.

Therefore based upon the above qualms, it would be inappropriate to dismiss the permit to develop the land of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. Further research and analysis may lead to a conclusion that outlines the altruistic intentions of the corporation. It ultimately begets the development of the corporation as well as the community.