The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument made by the author that the sale of land to Smith Corporation will damage the ecosystem for the 300 bird species that live in Youngtown Wildlife Preserve and will hence hamper the attraction of tourists who visit is a weak one and is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions. These assumptions will need to be addressed and corroborated if the author's position is to be considered strongly.

Author assumes that the sanctuary is essential to the bird species and that any tampering with it would directly impact the survival of these birds. No evidence is provided to explain what various features of the sanctuary are essential for the bird population and if the development of the planned hotel by the Smith Corporation will actually affect these particular features and hence the bird population. If the survival of the birds depended on a particular type pf climatic condition in the sanctuary and development of the hotel does not in any way tamper with the same then it would not affect the birds.

It is assumed by the author that the promise made by the Smith Corporation is a false one and that there is no way that their plans will not harm the sanctuary. It is possible that Smith Corporation have considered the details of their project and particularly their potential impacts on the sanctuary. They might have come up with a legitimate plan to preserve the sanctuary while building the hotel. This possibility is not examined by the author before concluding that their plans will be harmful for the sanctuary.

The main concern of the author is that the sale of this land will have no benefit for the community and instead have a negative impact as tourists would not be interested in visiting Youngtown. Author assumes here that the primary reason for the tourists to visit are the bird population in question and not any other attractiom within Youngtown. No evidence has been provided by the author to back this assumption. The author also assumes that the sale will have no benefits for the company. This assumption is an unwarranted one as building a hotel might actually attract more tourists by providing a living facility near the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve and hence benefiting the community.

Overall there are many assumptions made by the author in coming to a conclusion about the impact of the sale of land to the Smith Corporation on the sanctuary and on their community. He needs to examine all of these assumptions and provide evidence to back them if he wants to take a strong position against this sale.