The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava."The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students en

The city committee set a policy recommendation about a ten-year budget plan which proposes to cut funding for education while increase budget for adult recreational facilities. The only evidence cited in the argument to bolster this budget plan is the declining birthrate in the city, and based on it, the speaker projected that students enrolled for public school would largely fall for next decade. In addition, the speaker think that the number of adults however, would go up, therefore he propose to support more programs primarily for adults. In fact, the lack of more concrete evidence to support the prediction of population constitution makes the whole plan not convincing.

First of all, merely by the fact that the birthrate is dropping cannot prove that the students enrolled in public school in the next decade would fall dramatically. The number of students enrolled in public school could be influenced by not only the domestic young people population, but also by people from nearby towns. It is possible that the student enrolled in the local school are partly from outside of the city, like from nearby area. Furthermore, it is also possible that more parents with kids who would be attend the local public school migrate to this city in the next decade.

Besides, the competition between public school and private school would have impact on the number of students in public school, too. Therefore, in order to draw the conclusion about the student number for public school in next 10 years, the speaker obviously need to offer more evidence directly regarded to issues impact the school enrollment, like the possible factors discussed above.

Likewise, in terms of the number of adults, it is also an unconvincing forecast due to the absence of more evidences. This author failed to cite any evidence about why there would be more adults in the city whatsoever. Just because the falling of birthrates does not mean the increase of adults. Furthermore, even if the proportion of adults are growing gradually, it is still not reasonable to assume they would need more programs and facilities which are designed primarily for adults, considering we don’t know if there are already plenty of these which probably haven’t been used fully. It is possible that more there programs would simply be a waste of funding if they won’t be put into use.

To conclude, there need more evidence to support the projection about population of the city as well as the impact of population fluctuation on detailed budget plan.