The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava. "The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students e

According to the recommendation of the committee, due to the decling birthrate in Calatrava, they advise serial suggestions to appropriate the fund from the young to the adults, which involved decreasing education and infrastrucures for playing fund, increasing the fund for facilities and programs for adults to attract more adluts. The suggestions are problematic and let's rexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the author doesn't find out the reason for birthrate decreasing dramatically, then he simply attrubute this decling to the lack of adults. There must be some important reasons for this eighty percent decling ,compared with the data five years ago.May be the adult who at their best age for being parents would not like to be DINK rather than have a baby. The author should make a wide survey to discover the huge shift because this changing means to much to a city.

Secondly, the current children will suffer from this appropriation as the reducing fund on education and playing facilities. Even though the authority worries about the lower birthrate, they should not do harm to be benefits of the children about t go to the shcools. There is a possiblity that the population of children fit for primary school is so high that the current education fund is insufficient. Wihout the survey of the current education condition ,it is arbitrary of the author to make this suggestions.What's more, there's no obvious evidence show the necessity of reducing the fund of playing infrastructures and recreational facilities, as we do not know how many kids now in the city. If the authority ruduce the fund, there is a high possility that the kids parents who are also adults would complain abou this measure , even worse they will leave the city with their kids and make the place much less people than before. This serious circulation woul bring about other issues in the future.

Thirdly, thether the adults will be attacted by this funding plan is still in question. Beside these compaining parents we discuss above, here we should make clear that a city should not be a place contained by a certain age of people.Fearing the decling of birthrate and turn to the adults to increase people will bring no benefit to the city as the population balance will be violated. Thus the adults will not be in favor of such city with few children,which means the education and other related area will not be suitbale for a family, in the future the adult will leave,too.

In conclusion, the huge decling of birthrate will be the key point to the committee to make survey before the make any descisions. The potential decling in population should not be balanced by attract adults.