The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The budgeting committee for the city of Calatrava has presented a suggestion that a significant portion of funds currently dedicated to the public-school system and recreational facilities be shifted to city programs created for adults. The support for this budget recommendation comes from the declining birthrate in the city. The committee believes that this rate will continue to drop, resulting in a decreased number of students enrolled in the public-school system. However, before this budget proposal can be evaluated, three major pieces of evidence must be examined.

The first piece of evidence lacking from the proposal is the fact that adults do not make use of city-funded athletic playing fields and recreational facilities. If it were the case, for example, that Calatrava was home to a popular adult soccer league which conducted its games on city-owned soccer fields semiweekly, then these teams would have nowhere to play after the city stopped funding the fields and allowed them to reduce in quality, becoming overgrown and unusable. It is also possible that a significant population of the adults in Calatrava would often utilize a city recreation center that provided them with a space to simultaneously exercise and socialize. If it were true that adults make use of city-funded recreational facilities or would make use of them if more money was budgeted toward them, then the goal of the proposed budget would not be achieved.

Secondly, the proposal does not provide evidence that people would not move away due to upset at the lack of funding for the public-school system and recreational facilities. For example, the few families remaining in Calatrava might be driven to move to a different school district where the quality of education is higher due to more of the city budget there being dedicated to children and their schooling. There is also a possibility that adult population of the city will not increase as suggested in the proposal because even the adults inhabiting Calatrava will not remain in the city after the budget adjustment. If people were to move away from the city, then the proposed budget plan would facilitate more harm than good.

Finally, there is no evidence in the proposal that the birthrate will not increase at some point over the following decade. For example, if there were a large corporation located in Calatrava that began to bring in families and adults planning to start families, then the lack of budgeting for these families’ children would become a problem. Furthermore, there is a possibility that as the children in Calatrava grow into young adults themselves, they will begin to reproduce and fill the public-school system again. If one of these possibilities occurred, resulting in a resurgence in the child population of Calatrava, then the proposed budget would be ill-prepared.

Therefore, the proposal presented by the budget committee is currently flawed due to a lack of evidence that adults will not be upset by the budget shift, that the population will not decrease due to upset over the change, and that Calatrava will not experience a rise in birthrate over the next decade. If the budget committee could provide this evidence, their argument would be strengthened significantly.