The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author suggests that having a higher number of meals with family results in teens engaging in bad behaviour. The author cites the survey of 5,000 individuals as main evidennce for this conclusion.

The survey conducted on 5,000 teens lacks evidence on connection between having meals and engaging in bad behaviour. The consumtion of illegal drugs,tobacco or alcohol may not happen during the meal time. Having meals with family and consuming illegal items have no logical correlation amongst them. A teen may very well consume illegal drugs, tobaco or alcohol during school time. Bad company could be a better correlation factor for associating the consumption of illegal drugs,tobacco,or alcohol for an adolecent.

Furthermore, the author associates that higher number of family meals also help teens have higher grades,better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Though the author does not provide any evidence for the same. The higher grades may come from other factors , like increase in the number of study hours, motivation from school and peers. These factors could also lead to better self-esteem and lower rates of depression.

The author states that 30 percent of the teens have said that they ate atleast seven meals per week with their families. 30 percent is a small number to draw a conclusion for all or most teenagers. Also, the author does not provide any evidence linking seven meals per day to decrease in bad behaviour. These teens could be having breakfast with thier families and could engage in bad behavior for the better part of the day.

The author lacks evidence for the stated conclusion, having higher number of meals may not certainly lead to decrease in the consumption of illegal drugs, tobaco, or alcohol. Also, no evidence is provided for increase grades or better self-esteem.