"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

The author states that having meals with family keeps adolescents from bad behaviours based on the survey conducted with a sample set of 5000 teens. It is also stated that almost 30 percent teens said that they have one meal per day on an average with their families. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, there is a need to answer three questions.

Adolescents can be considered the most incomprehensible minds of all age groups, so is taking a small set of 5000 teens really a dependable survey to begin with? There could be a significant number of teens in the survey who might have lied about their use of drugs or alcohol. It is rather unlikely that teens who are engaging in bad behaviors would be willing to take part in a survey like the one discussed in the prompt, hence making the set considered for the survey imbalanced. So, if the teens who took part in the survey are already the ones with 'good behavior', it defeats the whole point the author is trying to make.

Is 30% a big enough number to make a correlation between the number of meals and scoring higher grades or having better self-esteem? The author presents statistics from the survey as supporting evidence, which by itself seems to be weak since it talks only about one-third of the set and fails to address about the situation of the rest 70% of the teens considered. It could have been the case that there were teens among the rest 70% that were having significantly less (or no) meals with their family, but are still performing good with grades and self-esteem.

Is there a direct correlation between the usage of drugs, tobacco or alcohol to higher grades, better self-esteem and lower rates of depression? There is a sudden shift in the conclusions made, where grades and self-esteem of a teen were associated to alcohol or drug abuse without any supporting evidence. Perhaps, there is no relation between the usage of drugs to higher grades, and are two mutually exclusive issues to address. There could be adoloscents who are abusing alcohol and still scoring good, and teens who stay away from tobacco but still fail to overcome their depression. If the answer to any of these questions is no, the argument does not hold water.

The argument as it is presented here is flawed in many ways. The author needs to provide answers to the three questions posed above in order to draw a conclusion about the argument discussed in the prompt.