The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted

groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004,

development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying

for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring

Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal

of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy

environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that the West Lansburg council should not allow the road be built, as demanded by the local developement interests, in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environement. Also, as the base of his argument, the author has made an anology of the situation in West Lansburg to the situation in its neighbor Eastern Carpenteria. Though this claim may well have merit, the author makes a poorely reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions, and based solely on the evidence that the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. Firstly, the author has not provided any ligitimate evidence that suggets that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Just by refering it to ancient records does not makes the claim valid. Secondly, the author asserts that the sanctuary in Eartern Carpenteria, had seen a sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. The author has not provided any details regarding this assertion. There are various other factors which could have caused the decline in the specie's population. For example: may be the climate changes over the years would have been responsible for the population decline. The author's premises, the basis of his argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support, wich renders its consequences unacceptable.

Further the author has compared the situation in West Lansburg to the one in Eastern Carpenteria without any common link. The species in both situations are diffrent. Even if, for once, we accept that the the delcline in population of sea otter attributes to the road development, we cannot just simply assume that similar affect would be seen on the tufted groundhound beacause they are very different species. They would have entirely different response to stimulae. Therefore, without any explication of link between the decline in sea otter and similar expectation for the tufted groundhounf, we cannot acceot this assumtion.

In sum, the author must provide legitimate evidence for his premises and assumptions to bolster his argument. For example he can provide the details for reasons which actually caused the decline of the sea otter, he should prove the link between the two species to justify why the response to stimulea would be same for both of them. By doing so the author would be in a better position to change his reader's mind and logically assert that the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. However, at present, with unsubstantiated premises and assumpmtions, this claim with illogical anology, would only convince few readers.