The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The tufted groundhog that lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg has been living there for some years and access road is to be built to allow people maybe pass through the roads. The author in the prompt believes that the same type of access road built at a neighboring Eastern Carpenteria led to it's population decline. This conclusion is flawed and I will be presenting the following three reasonings to weaken the evidence presented by the author.

Firstly, building an access road to the West Lansburg will make the environment more beautify and also make it easy for Veterinary services to access the location. The author do not state whether in 1978 that similar road was built in Eastern Carpenteria, there was a predator that caused the population to decline or even maybe there was a particular disease that affected the community that time. Concluding that the access road built cause the decline is only been wise by half.

Secondly, is there any other evidence to proof that the access road constructed led to the decline in population of Eastern Carpenteria tufted groundhog? If the author had made mention of any material used in road construction that is known to be harmful to tufted groundhog, that would have been subjected to further research but stating outright that it endangers the population is not only flawed but not a compelling reason enough not to build the road.

Furthermore, this is year 2021 and not year 1978. What is obtainable in year 1978 is not obtainable again in year 2021. Time has changed. There has been advancement in technology and also more people now tend to believe in the rights of animals and also considering the fact that some legislations has been made as regards the co-habiting of humans and animal, most people now believe in not endangering the tufted groundhog specie. Building the access road will even allow more people to know more about the tufted groundhog specie and thereby making the location a tourist attraction and create revenue for the local authorities of West Lansburg.

I think the author might fear that the tufted groundhog might be hunted by human beings due to the access road created, but with legislations already in place and also the public enlightenment of people, building the access road will not reduce the population of the tufted groundhog. In summary, the evidence given by the author and comparing West Lansburg to neighboring Eastern Carpenteria is flawed and does not hold any water. The local authorities should go ahead and build the access road to make the location a tourist attraction and also make it easier for veterinary services to access the location.