The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

According to the letter, the author claims suggests that in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the road should not be built alond the edge of wetlands. The author uses the neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria as example to support her argument, and claims that its sea otter population declined once their sanctuary status was repealed. To efficiently evaluate the argument, we need to consider the following three pieces of evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that if the road is built along the edge of the wetlands, then it will result in its sanctuary status being repealed. For instance, even if the road is built, but it is not damaging the region's diversity- and perhaps the wildlife body concerned with the handling the sanctuary status does not take it away. This may not harm the tufted groundhog living in the coastal wetlands. The author has to find direct correlation between building the road and its effect on the region's biodiversity and in maintaining a healthy environment. Hence, if the above scenario becomes true, then the argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, there has to be compelling evidence that the scenario in West Lansburg and in Eastern Carpenteria are roughly comparable. For instance, even if the sanctuaries are similar, the effect of the development along the coast on the sea otter and the tufted groundhog can vary vastly. What if the development of the road is no way affecting the life of the tufted groundhog? If this is true then we do not have a problem, because then we are not hampering with the region's biodiversity. Therefore, the author has come up with proper evidence about the nature of road that is being built and its effect on the lifestyle of the tufted groundhog. If the above scenario becomes true, then it significally weakens the author's argument.

Finally, the author has to produce specific evidence about the adverse effects that the development can have in maintaining a healthy environment. For example, if the author can produce evidence that after building the road, pollution might increase, resulting in decline of health of the tufted groundhogs, then this can strengthen his argument. He can also get evidence that the construction of the road will result in lesser space for the animals and hence, hampering with their lifestyle by not allowing them to roam freely and live in constant peril of being hurt by a vehicle. However, this should be done consulting researchers and drawing data from various other sources where such a similar situation has been encountered.

In conclusion, I think the argument is in a way flawed. The author just does not consider enough evidences before making the conclusion. To efficiently evaluate the argument, we need to consider the pieces of evidence mentioned above, which the author can collect by conducting proper research in the area or by consulting the government.